“Mini Mendacious Moments” is a feature about small moments (a page, an opening sequence, a character design, or something a character said) in manga, anime, or games that simply makes me pause and just wonder why something so silly, bad, demeaning, or pertaining to a double standard was even mentioned or briefly touched upon. Being such a small and blatant moment, in-dept analysis will not be given, rather, this is more for snarky me to share my snarky commentary.

We all know the silliness of the female wardrobe in the gaming industry. There are so many stupid design choices and double standards that it isn’t hard to find something to talk about, especially if one likes to keep up to date with all the newest games that are coming out and is constantly flooded with these “interesting” design choices. Nevertheless, there is one design choice that I loath quite a bit (maybe not the most but definitely in my top 5 worst female design choices) and that I not so recently came across an example of it on an article about a game called Dungeon Fighter Online. Yes, I refer none other than to the infamous Inner Thigh Cut-Off Pants (my name for them) that this game’s lone female character wears:

WHY?! Damn it! Why?! Is it really so hard to give her pants without holes on the inside?! If you want her legs to show, just leave her in her underwear and give her thigh high boots/socks. I seriously cannot express how much I simply loath this stupid design choice. It really is so stupid. It looks silly and functionally, it serves no damn purpose. If she was in her underwear, at least you could make the claim that it’s easier to move around without pants, but this? There is nothing one could say to defend this sort of design. It’s stupid, and it’s exploitative. Why would anyone walk around with holes on the inside of their pants? Have you ever seen a male character with this kind of design? I sure haven’t! And you know why? Because it looks ridiculous. The only reason it’s acceptable here is because it draws attention to her crotch. Real classy.

I don’t know if I’m the only one, but honestly, whenever I see these sorts of designs, they just suck out any enthusiasm I had for the game and replace it with skepticism about the game’s quality and disdain of supporting a product that needs to objectify its female characters to stay relevant. And trust me, I’ve got quite a tolerance for silly female character designs. I’ve been playing games and watching anime for over 10 years. Hell I purchased Devil Survivor 2 for full price day 1 and it had the stupidest breast physics I’ve seen in a while. The breasts of female characters looked like balls stuck up their shirts rather than breasts. I’m willing to over-look a bit of stupidity for a good game, but when the game starts advertising nothing but hot sexy female characters wearing practically nothing or looks basically forgettable in every regard and has nothing but stupid female character designs, you can bet I’m not going to support that. And if a games does have stupid female character designs, it’s going to have to work that much harder to prove to me that it isn’t just another forgettable game that’s trying to sell some copies by appealing to the lowest common denominator, and by doing so, throwing its female characters under the bus.

I guess I should give the artist and game creators points for actually giving her actiony poses rather than sexy and demure poses. That honestly, is the single good thing about this picture. But please, for the love of God, no one else start doing this silly design again. I haven’t seen it in a while, so I thought it was finally dead, but it looks like someone else thought it was a good idea again. It’s not!

–SW

