“Mini Mendacious Moments” is a feature about small moments (a page, an opening sequence, a character design, or something a character said) in manga, anime, or games that simply makes me pause and just wonder why something so silly, bad, demeaning, or pertaining to a double standard was even mentioned or briefly touched upon. Being such a small and blatant moment, in-dept analysis will not be given, rather, this is more for snarky me to share my snarky commentary.

You know, I’m not one to complain about big boobs in manga and games. I actually don’t mind it too much and I think there are worse things out there for artists and story writers to do to their female characters. If the female character is tough and independent, but happens to have rather large chest (not grotesquely big mind you, I find those disturbing and just not sexy at all), I’m perfectly fine with that. Hey, why not let her be strong and interesting and sexy. Nothing wrong with that~ But for the love of all that is good, if you are going to emphasize a female character’s breasts, please please please at least know how to draw them. For an example of how not to draw them, let us turn to Flame of Recca:

Those are suppose to be boobs? They sure don’t look like boobs.  (Chapter 145, page 5)

Pro tip #1 – Breasts do not stand erect like that. There is something we like to call gravity, I’m sure you’ve heard about it.

Pro tip #2 – Shirts do not work like that. They are not glued to one’s skin, nor do they magically encase themselves around one’s boobs. I think I should know, I wear them everyday and my boobs don’t look like that. Unless you are drawing a character in a plug suit, there is no way the breasts should be so well defined in clothing, especially since the rest of her clothes/robes are obviously rather loose.

Pro tip #3 – Maybe you should google some images of normal women wearing normal shirts. That way the boobs you draw actually look natural and people don’t snicker at your lack of basic knowledge on human/female anatomy.

Pro tip #4 – I don’t know about anyone else, but boobs that look like two lemons cut in half and glued onto the torso of a female character do not look sexy. Mission failed.

Well then, that’s all I have to say about that. Carry on!

–SW

