In response to simpleek tagging me in her post, I’m participating in the Anime Blogger Interrogation Game.

Rules
(copy/pasted from the original)

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives.You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

Here are the questions I’ve been asked to answer along with my responses:

1. If you can go on a date with any anime character, who would it be and why?

Hm, this is a rather hard question. Even among my favourite male characters and couples, I don’t necessarily think I personally would want to date them. In fact, it’s more how the relationship evolves and how the two leads interact that draws me to them, rather than personally finding said characters and relationship as a mirror of what I want. So with that said, the closest to my actual preferences would be Ian Hasumi from Fairy Cube. Ian has a very straight forward and tender personality. I would find him very easy to talk to and get along with. He’d be a good person to date and have fun with.

2. When you first got into anime/manga, has it increased your interest in the Japanese language or culture?

Surprisingly not at first. I first got into anime through English language dubs and I didn’t even know the shows were Japanese until much later. My first exposures to anime were also mostly fantasy type shows that didn’t really focus heavily on Japanese culture. It was definitely there, but for someone who didn’t know anything about it, I couldn’t discern what was imported into the fantasy setting and what was simply made up. For example, I was not aware until much later that the “castle” Vaan (from Escaflowne) lives in was highly Japanese (with the way Van sits is very similar to a shogun) until I rewatched the series much later with a greater grasp on Japanese history and culture. That said, once I started to get exposed to fan subs and a variety of different series, it definitely sparked an interest in the culture. Like simpleek, I’ve even picked up a few Japanese words and phrases from all my anime watching.

3. How did you get into anime/manga?

I got into both through Sailor Moon, but anime came first. Back in elementary school, I heard of Sailor Moon (it was the talk of the school) and started watching it. Later I also watched Pokemon, Escaflowne, Gundam Wing, and a few others on YTV (the little snippets they had of what shows were coming up in their schedule informed me they were airing these anime) and that basically ignited the spark started by Sailor Moon. For manga though, I wasn’t even aware it existed (in English) until my second year of highschool, where I stumbled upon, by chance, the fact that the Sailor Moon manga was available in English (via tokyopop) while surfing through Sailor Moon fansites. I went over to a local comic shop and I was overjoyed when I saw volume 1. I bought it and from that my love of manga started.

4. What anime series, if any, are you currently watching?

Hime-chan no Ribbon, One Piece (which is ongoing and I’ll probably be watching it for a long time to come), and Motto Ojamajo Doremi. There are a few other shows I am in the process of watching, but these ones are the ones I’ve most recently been watching. I’m also planning on watching season two of Haruhi soon thanks to a few comments on Shoujo Corner’s Everyone Loves Them…Except me post and my own reply post, Popular Characters Whose Appeal I don’t Understand, piquing my interest in the show again.

5. If for one day you could be part of your favorite anime series, what would it be and why?

Another tough one. I was going to say Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle at first, but if it’s only a day, then I wouldn’t get to see all the worlds, so that would be no fun. I know this is kind of cheating, but in the end I’d love to be a part of Pokemon just to I could actually meet the Pokemon and have real battles with them. I think that would be a lot of fun~

These were such awesome questions. I wonder if I can think of equally awesome ones. Also I have no idea if everyone wants to participate in this, but I’ll tag five blogger regardless. Hopefully at least one of them will want to join in. ^__^;;;  So here are my five questions:

1. If you could pick any anime/manga to have a sequel (in an extended epilogue sort of way that continued the story beyond the ending), which would it be?

2. Do you have any anime/manga pet peeves? If so, what are they?

3. Which manga would you love to see get an anime adaptation?

4. When watching an anime, outside of the story and characters, what aspect is most important to you?

5. If you could have the powers of any magical girl, which one would it be and why?

As for tagging, I would love to see these bloggers answer my questions: simpleek (hope you don’t mind me tagging you back ^_^;;;), Shojo Corner, Lazy Cat Cafe, Heroine of Shoujo, and Mainichi Anime Yume. No idea if anyone wants to answer these. I won’t hold it against you if you don’t. Although I’d love to hear the answers. :3 Anyway, here are my answers to my questions:

1. This question is kind of hard because there are a few series I wished haven’t ended and I would love to see more of. The Juuni Kokuki anime didn’t animate the whole story and I’d love to see that finished, but since it technically “hasn’t ended” yet (as the books continue the story), it doesn’t quite fit the criteria for this question, so my next choice would be Sailor Moon. I thought the manga ended pretty well, but there are still things I’d love to see. Like Usagi as Neo Queen Serenity and what’s going on in the distant future with Sailor Cosmos (whether she really is Usagi or whether that was a translation hiccup). In general, I wouldn’t mind more stories just featuring the senshi of the present either since I love them all a lot. :3

2. I’ve got a few, but my biggest ones are definitely when a harem anime focuses on the girls squabbling over the protagonist, when a female character is moeified to the point where she mentally resembles a baby and is portrayed as a viable future companion for the protagonist, moe characters in general (although there are a few rare exceptions), the tropes Bastard Boyfriend and All Girls Want Bad Boys, and just when a manga refuses to portray any female characters as competent/emotionally mature for no good reason (and especially if said female characters are used excessively for demeaning fan service).

3. 20th Century Boys by Naoki Urasawa. It’s not too far-fetched, Monster got animated and I think 20th Century Boys would benefit a lot from being animated since music is important to the plot (albeit it would be pretty hard to get the licenses for all the 80s rock references) and the chapters dealing with Kenji trying to stop the giant robot would be nice to see in motion too.

4. This is a close call, but I’m leaning toward music over animation, just because music can really get me to feel the mood of the scene. Animation is important too, but I personally am more willing to forgive mediocre animation over mediocre music (as long as the story/characters make up for it).

5. Sakura’s Clow Cards because I love the idea of using cards in addition to a wand and a spell to create magic. Also, there are so many cards that the sorts of magic you could do is pretty much unlimited.

Well that’s that. Hope everyone is having fun with the remaining days of summer that are left.

–SW

