The rare and sought after volume 13

So ever since I started the 12th volume of Please Save My Earth, I’ve had the 13th volume looming over me. Fellow blogger simpleek touched on this problem already in one of her posts, but I thought I would do this post too since it’s something that is a big problem for me right now.

Anyone keeping up with my Impressions of Please Save My Earth knows I was a bit let down by the fifth volume and shifted priority onto a different manga series afterwards. So while I was collecting another obscure series, the 13th volume of Please Save My Earth went out of print and got really rare. When I got back into the series afterwards, I was really kicking myself for putting the series on hold because the next volume, six, picked things back up again, and if I had continued collecting it in 2008, I might have avoided the problem that I have currently found myself in: I have all the volumes of this lovely series except for volume number 13. Truly, 13 is unlucky!

Some of you may notice on my Manga Collection page that Please Save My Earth isn’t the only manga with this problem. I have quite a few series marked in red (out of print), but Please Save My Earth is particularly a painful dilemma. The volume is not only out of print, but surprisingly rare and sought after. This has caused third party sellers to really jack up the price of this volume. At one point, the cheapest, in decent condition, offer for this manga on Amazon marketplace was 50$ USD; with new copies going for 80$ USD at least, but most sellers were asking for around 100$ USD. For a volume that originally cost 9.99$ USD, that is insane! Luckily, be it the economy or just people not willing to pay these exorbitant prices, the going price for this volume has dropped remarkably. I’ve seen “good” condition books now going for 30$ USD on Amazon and new copies costing around 50$ USD.

These are definitely more palatable prices, but there is still a part of me that feels a little ripped off paying 30$ for someone’s used book. Especially when other out of print manga go for dirt cheap. I’ve seen ParaKiss, Forbidden Dance, and a few others priced at around 1$ USD per volume used and around 5$ for new copies on the Marketplace. So I’m sort of stuck in a dilemma. Do I just read the scans for volume 13 and leave my collection incomplete, or do I fork over the money (which is quite expensive for me due to currency exchange and shipping at the moment) and complete my collection? Thoughts, suggestions, anything, are all welcome and I really appreciate it.

–SW

