“Mini Mendacious Moments” is a brand new feature of mine about small moments (a page, an opening sequence, a character design, or something a character said) in manga, anime, or games that simply makes me pause and just wonder why something so silly, demeaning, or pertaining to a double standard was even mentioned or briefly touched upon. Being such a small and blatant moment, in-dept analysis will not be given, rather, this is more for snarky me to share my snarky commentary.

Being the first one featured, today’s page from the shounen manga, Flame of Recca, is the inspiration behind this new feature:

Yes, Flame of Recca, hair is super duper important to women. It's not like it won't grow back if you cut it, oh wait. (Chapter 62, page 11)

I’m sorry, but this is just really ridiculous. Granted, some women are super proud of their hair and what not. In fact, I love my hair and take good care of it, but I still think it’s ridiculous to paint hair as something sacred to women. Furthermore, this is a female warrior who is using it as a weapon and you’re going to go to great lengths to point out she must not want it cut, because all women must be super obsessed with having long and beautiful hair and their delicate hearts can’t take the reality of having it cruelly cut in a battle. Ironically enough, a few chapters later when we get a flashback of the girl before she had magic hair, she is shown having short hair! Not that I should be super surprised, this manga has enough silly WTF bits to make a few posts about it. (¬__¬) *sigh* I guess I should also point out that this isn’t the first time it’s been mentioned as well, our dear heroine Yanagi had her hair cut against her will too and preachy Recca also got angry about that, because well, hair is freaken damn important to women and it won’t grow back, you hear me!

–SW

